About Me

Growing up, I wasn’t fast, athletic, or strong. Going into high school, I was a scrawny 4 ft 11 kid weighing 90+ lbs. In my Junior year, I tried out for the school basketball team, but the coach told me I was “too small” and needed to “gain weight” first, and so I began lifting, trying to get bigger and stronger but had no idea what I was doing. Fast forward toward the end of my Freshman year of college. I was 6 ft tall weighing 139 lbs, skinny and lean, and still unathletic. It was at this time that a college friend, who had trained at Defranco’s gym (a renowned sports performance gym that has trained many professional athletes), said I should work out with him and that I’d be able to grab rim with BOTH hands by the end of the school year and that I’d gain a lot of weight and muscle mass. School ended and I didn’t achieve my goal of grabbing the rim with two hands, HOWEVER, I did go from not being able to even touch the rim to grabbing it with one hand without effort. I also gained a good 17 lbs. From that point forward, I WAS HOOKED! All I could think about was training, getting bigger, faster, stronger, and especially, jumping higher. I even switched my major from Pre-Business to Exercise Science. I was like a sponge, wanting to absorb every piece of information dealing with training/fitness, reading every book I could get my hands on, and researching articles and studies on the Internet. I created and followed my own programs and even participated in a few well-known programs such as Flying in Four and VertFreak. I also paid for personalized training with Alan Barch Jr. (a.k.a SquatDr) the vertical jump master, Kelly Baggett, and Joel Smith, collegiate strength and conditioning coach and owner of Just Fly Sports. In college, I completed an internship with Princeton University’s Strength and Conditioning program, in which I had the opportunity to help train their sports teams. I also completed an internship at the TEST Sports Performance Gym where I helped prep college players for the NFL Combine. Along with that, I have my Personal Training certification (CPT) from the National Strength and Conditioning Association, the Olympic Weight Lifting certification (USAW), and currently work as a personal trainer at Rutgers University. I began my journey at 139 lbs and couldn’t even touch the rim. I have now transformed myself to 180 lbs while jumping a good foot higher than before with a solid 260 lb bench, a 330 lbs squat, a weighted pull-up with 90 lbs, and much more! And my journey isn’t over yet! I am striving toward a 40” standing vertical, 315lbs bench, 455lbs squat, a pull up with 2x my body weight, and to be at 190lbs with 7% body fat and a legit six pack.


Name: Ori Biala
Age: 30
B.S.c Exercise Science, Rutgers University
Doctor of Physical Therapy, Touro College
Resident Orthopedic Specialist
Height: 6' 0"
Weight: 185 lbs
Vertical leap: 41.1" (personal best)